Skip to content

Cool Crisp Air

by on February 5, 2013

I like the cool crisp air during the winter months. I feel like I have more time to sit down and take everything in. I move slower. I stay longer, gaze further, breathe deeper.

We have a lot of birds that fly over the farm; Canadian geese, snowy egrets, great egrets, herons, ducks. Or visit occasionally; pheasants and wild turkeys.  And ones that hang around throughout the year; finches, red wing black birds, scrub jays, swallows, blue birds, hummingbirds, hawks, kites, crows, fly catchers, woodpeckers, warblers and I think I’ve spotted an oriole.  We even have two resident barn owls that call the Twin Palms home. I can’t forget to mention the geese – Charlie, Ting Hau and Madagascar. Plus those plump hens – Tula Tula, Nanook, Delight, Wiamea, Raquel, Lucile, Plucky, Orca and the handsome Rooster, Sriracha. It’s a bird lover’s paradise.

Well that was a fast break.             Time to start the seeds again.

Seed catalogs

From → Farm News, Weather

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

